Where the old players come back to what once was grand
 
HomeFAQSearchMemberlistUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Best video game ever created. (In your opinion)

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
ŠeathByCyanide
GFX Artist
GFX Artist
avatar

Number of posts : 524
Registration date : 2008-05-21

Your Character
Level: 1
Primary Move: Combustion-

PostSubject: Best video game ever created. (In your opinion)   Mon Apr 13, 2009 4:14 pm

I'd say Final Fantasy 7, it has a great storyline. It never gets boring, there's about 200 hours of game play, including all the side quests, and others. If you just go through the game as quickly as possible it'd still take 75-90 hours. The materia system was amazing, and I loved all the characters, except Yuffie... Although the supposed "remake" I was waiting for, for years was a failure. They even swapped out the main character, with Zach, and changed the entire battle system.


_________________


Back to top Go down
View user profile
Jay.J
Head Admin
Head Admin
avatar

Number of posts : 3470
Registration date : 2008-05-21
Age : 26
Location : Toronto

Your Character
Level: ∞
Primary Move: Moderate

PostSubject: Re: Best video game ever created. (In your opinion)   Mon Apr 13, 2009 4:59 pm

FF7 is actually a really good game. I played it when I was younger and again recently, and the story is so much deeper when you're not 12. Lol Razz.

_________________

Back to top Go down
View user profile http://lolcatz.jayj
ŠeathByCyanide
GFX Artist
GFX Artist
avatar

Number of posts : 524
Registration date : 2008-05-21

Your Character
Level: 1
Primary Move: Combustion-

PostSubject: Re: Best video game ever created. (In your opinion)   Mon Apr 13, 2009 5:28 pm

Jay.J wrote:
FF7 is actually a really good game. I played it when I was younger and again recently, and the story is so much deeper when you're not 12. Lol Razz.

Weird... Same here. I used to play it when I was little, so I decided a few weeks ago to get it out and play it again. I never realized until recently the story is actually VERY good, and deep as you said.

But I had to get my second disc buffered, and it worked flawlessly, and looked new. So I got to the third, I noticed it had a crack in the disc, and it worked, surprisingly. I got the gold chocobo, got KOR, and the other materias from the islands. I beat Jenova, and Savior Sephiroth, without taking damage. Then my game froze after I killed Safer Sephiroth, quite depressing... I can't finish it now. My third disc stopped working also.

_________________




Last edited by ŠeathByCyanide on Mon Apr 13, 2009 5:33 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Rhys
Map Maker
avatar

Number of posts : 719
Registration date : 2008-05-23
Age : 35
Location : Massachusetts

Your Character
Level: 1
Primary Move: Atomic Tea-Bag

PostSubject: Re: Best video game ever created. (In your opinion)   Mon Apr 13, 2009 5:30 pm

sadly I too must admit and give into the cliche that FF7 is likely the best game ever made.

Of course I say this in context to its time line. For instance if you minus the Graphics and the length and detail of the game that was available because of Sony having the CD and SNES having the cartridge then i would say that Chrono Trigger by far surpasses FF7, and likewise for that same very reason I have to say that FF7 beats out FF10 which under normal circumstances FF10 is by far my favorite RPG to date taking away considerations of the time and place they where made. I will likely have to wait for the next generation console for a better rpg then FF10 as nothing that has come out for this generation has been anything but rehashed garbage with polished graphics and technically in my opinion the graphics do not even compare to ff10 and I have never in my life played a better voice acted game ever!

*EDIT*

Jay and DBC you shoudl download the new Ultima Release of the game and then apply the graphic patches to it that are available, it greatly enhances the graphics and rounds and smoothes everything out as well as updates the menu style a bit to give a more modern translucent feel to it.

I played it when it came out I must have been around 15-16 in that area and everyone on my block was absorbed with the game for a month, I remember everyone getting it and never seeing each other that entire month and we would all get on the bus and talk about it every day on the way to school. I must have played that game twenty times by now, I was hoping so much for the PS3 version to be released!

_________________


"Am I the narrow-minded one...or you? I believe in things that have no logical explanation." - Bart, My New Favorite Quoter
Back to top Go down
View user profile
ŠeathByCyanide
GFX Artist
GFX Artist
avatar

Number of posts : 524
Registration date : 2008-05-21

Your Character
Level: 1
Primary Move: Combustion-

PostSubject: Re: Best video game ever created. (In your opinion)   Mon Apr 13, 2009 5:49 pm

Rhys wrote:
sadly I too must admit and give into the cliche that FF7 is likely the best game ever made.

Of course I say this in context to its time line. For instance if you minus the Graphics and the length and detail of the game that was available because of Sony having the CD and SNES having the cartridge then i would say that Chrono Trigger by far surpasses FF7, and likewise for that same very reason I have to say that FF7 beats out FF10 which under normal circumstances FF10 is by far my favorite RPG to date taking away considerations of the time and place they where made. I will likely have to wait for the next generation console for a better rpg then FF10 as nothing that has come out for this generation has been anything but rehashed garbage with polished graphics and technically in my opinion the graphics do not even compare to ff10 and I have never in my life played a better voice acted game ever!

*EDIT*

Jay and DBC you shoudl download the new Ultima Release of the game and then apply the graphic patches to it that are available, it greatly enhances the graphics and rounds and smoothes everything out as well as updates the menu style a bit to give a more modern translucent feel to it.

I played it when it came out I must have been around 15-16 in that area and everyone on my block was absorbed with the game for a month, I remember everyone getting it and never seeing each other that entire month and we would all get on the bus and talk about it every day on the way to school. I must have played that game twenty times by now, I was hoping so much for the PS3 version to be released!

In agreement with Rhys: They'd all be pretty even, to take the title of best video game created. Although I think it'd still go FF7 > FF10 < Chrono Trigger. FF Tactics was also an incredible game, not the gameboy advance one, the original. Not to mention there's been several games based off of FF7, and a movie.

Yeah, all they're doing is focusing on graphics, and shiny art, FF7, and Chrono Trigger are perfect examples at why great graphics are not needed.

Could you send a download link or something for the Ultima Release?


*EDIT* Found one: http://www.demonoid.com/files/details/1872494/19215080/

_________________


Back to top Go down
View user profile
Jay.J
Head Admin
Head Admin
avatar

Number of posts : 3470
Registration date : 2008-05-21
Age : 26
Location : Toronto

Your Character
Level: ∞
Primary Move: Moderate

PostSubject: Re: Best video game ever created. (In your opinion)   Mon Apr 13, 2009 6:21 pm

I haven't played FF10, but tactics was indeed epic storyline and gameplay, it just didn't have the sidequests and stuff that FF7 did. However Chrono Trigger was also possibly the best game of it's generation. It had such limitless replayability....With each character being good for final teams, multiple storylines, lots of easter eggs...Hmm, I guess it depends on the generation Neutral. I heard the Chrono Trigger remake for DS was pretty good too.

_________________

Back to top Go down
View user profile http://lolcatz.jayj
ŠeathByCyanide
GFX Artist
GFX Artist
avatar

Number of posts : 524
Registration date : 2008-05-21

Your Character
Level: 1
Primary Move: Combustion-

PostSubject: Re: Best video game ever created. (In your opinion)   Mon Apr 13, 2009 6:28 pm

I just remembered another great RPG, Dragon Warrior Monsters, for gameboy color. Oh... and Mario RPG.

If anyone would like a friend code to Demonoid, just ask.

_________________




Last edited by ŠeathByCyanide on Mon Apr 13, 2009 7:35 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Belial
Master Mage
Master Mage
avatar

Number of posts : 266
Registration date : 2008-07-23
Age : 26
Location : No ty, i don't want people to try to rape me in my own house.

Your Character
Level: 1
Primary Move: Posession

PostSubject: Re: Best video game ever created. (In your opinion)   Mon Apr 13, 2009 7:25 pm

I have to agree with everyone and say FF7 is the greatest game ever made though Baldur's Gate comes close. I haven't played any other FF games, mostly because there aren't any others out for PC.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Jay.J
Head Admin
Head Admin
avatar

Number of posts : 3470
Registration date : 2008-05-21
Age : 26
Location : Toronto

Your Character
Level: ∞
Primary Move: Moderate

PostSubject: Re: Best video game ever created. (In your opinion)   Mon Apr 13, 2009 7:39 pm

You could always torrent them and use a PS1 emulator for 7-9, and then use a SNES emulator for 1-6.*

*Note: We here @ ZMMM do not approve of illegal pirating activities such as Roms & ISO's without already having the game.

_________________

Back to top Go down
View user profile http://lolcatz.jayj
Bartimaeus
Moderator
Moderator
avatar

Number of posts : 865
Registration date : 2008-05-21
Age : 105

Your Character
Level: 1
Primary Move: Inferno

PostSubject: Re: Best video game ever created. (In your opinion)   Mon Apr 13, 2009 7:49 pm

Baldur's Gate 2.

This can beat the crap out of any JRPG.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Rhys
Map Maker
avatar

Number of posts : 719
Registration date : 2008-05-23
Age : 35
Location : Massachusetts

Your Character
Level: 1
Primary Move: Atomic Tea-Bag

PostSubject: Re: Best video game ever created. (In your opinion)   Mon Apr 13, 2009 8:44 pm

jay you know Im a pirater!

_________________


"Am I the narrow-minded one...or you? I believe in things that have no logical explanation." - Bart, My New Favorite Quoter
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Belial
Master Mage
Master Mage
avatar

Number of posts : 266
Registration date : 2008-07-23
Age : 26
Location : No ty, i don't want people to try to rape me in my own house.

Your Character
Level: 1
Primary Move: Posession

PostSubject: Re: Best video game ever created. (In your opinion)   Tue Apr 14, 2009 5:06 am

Jay.J wrote:
You could always torrent them and use a PS1 emulator for 7-9, and then use a SNES emulator for 1-6.*

*Note: We here @ ZMMM do not approve of illegal pirating activities such as Roms & ISO's without already having the game.


I'm more interested in the newer Final Fantasy games since the story has to be better then great for me to play a game with graphics that make my eyes bleed.

I approve illegal pirating, unless the game has no protection. I always buy games with minimal or no protection.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Jay.J
Head Admin
Head Admin
avatar

Number of posts : 3470
Registration date : 2008-05-21
Age : 26
Location : Toronto

Your Character
Level: ∞
Primary Move: Moderate

PostSubject: Re: Best video game ever created. (In your opinion)   Tue Apr 14, 2009 9:51 am

The stories are pretty awesome. Back in the day you HAD to make a quality game with a good storyline/gameplay because gaming wasn't so big or popular, and because they realized they did have shitty graphics. Now a days you (IMO) you won't have as good storyline or gameplay as gaming has become a lot more commercialized than it was in the 90's. It's a lot more focused on graphics, and as such, lose out on what could be put towards game play, content, storyline etc. FF 8/9 can be gotten with a PS1 emulator, so the graphics aren't bad. And if you're going to try something from the Sega generation, I would suggest starting with 6 - since 6 had a really cool method of their story.

_________________

Back to top Go down
View user profile http://lolcatz.jayj
RapidFireOmega
Moderator
Moderator
avatar

Number of posts : 394
Registration date : 2008-05-21
Age : 109
Location : Look behind you.

Your Character
Level: 1
Primary Move: Controlled Spontaneous Combustion

PostSubject: Re: Best video game ever created. (In your opinion)   Thu Apr 16, 2009 8:56 am

Never played a final fantasy ( don't kill me plz)

Best game for gamecube - The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker

PS2 - Jak 3

PS3 - Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare

N64 - Donkey Kong 64!!!

Super Nintendo - Duck Hunter!!!!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Jay.J
Head Admin
Head Admin
avatar

Number of posts : 3470
Registration date : 2008-05-21
Age : 26
Location : Toronto

Your Character
Level: ∞
Primary Move: Moderate

PostSubject: Re: Best video game ever created. (In your opinion)   Thu Apr 16, 2009 9:38 am

Pretty sure Duck Hunter was for normal Nintendo.
Super Smash Brothers (Original) was better for N64 IMO.
You got a PS3, go get FF 7 & 9. (I haven't played 8 myself, but I plan on doing so over the summer...)

_________________

Back to top Go down
View user profile http://lolcatz.jayj
Dragonheart91
Godlike Sage
Godlike Sage
avatar

Number of posts : 2357
Registration date : 2008-05-21

Your Character
Level: 1
Primary Move: Cursed Waves (pwned much?)

PostSubject: Re: Best video game ever created. (In your opinion)   Thu Apr 16, 2009 10:39 am

Super Metroid?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
ŠeathByCyanide
GFX Artist
GFX Artist
avatar

Number of posts : 524
Registration date : 2008-05-21

Your Character
Level: 1
Primary Move: Combustion-

PostSubject: Re: Best video game ever created. (In your opinion)   Thu Apr 16, 2009 9:20 pm

Dragonheart91 wrote:
Super Metroid?
Agreed.

I might get a PS3, just for FF XIII.

N64- The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time
PS1- Final Fantasy VII
PS2- Final Fantasy X
XBOX- Halo (They all sucked except the first)
Sega- Sonic The Hedgehog
SNES- Super Metroid, or the Super Mario Bros 3

*EDIT*
Messed up... I meant FF X for PS2, not X-2. I hated that one.

_________________




Last edited by ŠeathByCyanide on Thu Apr 16, 2009 10:22 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
View user profile
SinisteRing
Webmaster
Webmaster
avatar

Number of posts : 2031
Registration date : 2008-05-21
Age : 25
Location : New Hampshire

Your Character
Level: 1
Primary Move: Telekinetic Choke

PostSubject: Re: Best video game ever created. (In your opinion)   Thu Apr 16, 2009 10:08 pm

N64 - Super Smash Bros
PS2 - Final Fantasy X
GameCube - Gladius
PC - Half-Life 2
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://zyncmmm.ace.st
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Best video game ever created. (In your opinion)   

Back to top Go down
 
Best video game ever created. (In your opinion)
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Old Mages Magic & Mayhem Gamers Forum :: Archives :: Archives-
Jump to: